Sunday, December 9, 2012

Review: Mortal Engines




In the future, after a terrible war where nations destroyed themselves and the world around them, entire cities will outfit themselves with engines and treads , taking to the destroyed landscape to hunt one another. Tom, a lowly apprentice Historian in the grand city of London, happens upon a great secret, one that takes him from his home, sends him out onto the desolate earth, and perhaps joining forces with the Anti-Traction League. Tom is torn between the past he has been fed in London and the startling truths he learns in the outside world, can he reconcile the two?
Mortal Engines, by Phillip Reeve combines elements of steam punk, dystopia, and a good old fashioned adventure story. The world of the future is terrifying and all too realistic. The adventure is over too soon, with a great cliffhanger ending, leaving readers wanting to pick up the next book in the series. Fans of Scott Westerfeld's Behemoth and Veronica Wroth's Insurgent will feel at home in this future world and Kids over the age of 13 should be able to handle the death destruction that is encountered.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!